Columbus, Ohio Criminal Defense, DUI / OVI, and Traffic Attorney

CDL License Suspension

CDL drivers are placed under strict requirements when operating a motor vehicle. A CDL Drivers license may be suspended / disqualified for numerous reasons and much quicker than other classes of drivers in Ohio. Below is a list of some of the more common suspensions / disqualifying events under Ohio law. In addition to what is listed here, CDL drivers who transport hazardous materials or sixteen or more passengers generally receive longer suspensions.

Short Suspensions

  • 24 hours for driving a CMV with a detectable amount of alcohol in the persons system
  • 60 days for 2 serious traffic violations in 3 years
  • 120 days for 3 serious traffic violations in 3 years

One year suspensions of CDL License

  • 1st conviction for BAC of .04 or higher in a CMV
  • 1st conviction for driving under influence of controlled substance in any motor vehicle
  • 1st conviction for use of a motor vehicle to commit a felony
  • 1st conviction for failing to submit to breath, blood, or urine test
  • 1st conviction for operating a CMV with suspended CDL
  • 1st conviction for causing a fatality through negligent operation of a CMV.
  • 1st DUI conviction
  • 1st conviction for failing to stop after accident

Life suspensions of CDL License

  • 2nd conviction for BAC of .04 or higher in a CMV
  • 2nd conviction for driving under influence of controlled substance in any motor vehicle
  • 2nd conviction for use of a motor vehicle to commit a felony
  • 2nd conviction for failing to submit to breath, blood, or urine test
  • 2nd conviction for operating a CMV with suspended CDL
  • 2nd conviction for causing a fatality through negligent operation of a CMV.
  • 2nd DUI conviction
  • 2nd conviction for failing to stop after accident
  • 1st conviction for use of a motor vehicle to commit a felony involving the manufacture, distribution, or dispensing of controlled substances

Violation of Railroad Crossing statutes

  • 1st offense – not less than 60 days
  • 2nd offense – not less than 120 days
  • 3rd or subsequent offense – not less than 1 year

Violation of Out-of-Service Orders

  • 1st Violation – 90 days
  • 2nd Violation in 10 years – 1 year
  • 3rd or subsequent violation in 10 years – 3 years

Contact

Attorney At Law
35 E. Livingston Ave.
Columbus, Ohio 43215