Columbus, Ohio Criminal Defense, DUI / OVI, and Traffic Attorney

DUI Penalties

Ohio DUI penalties are among some of the toughest in the nation. Ohio DUI penalties include minimum jail terms, driver intervention programs, license suspensions, fines, probation, restricted plates, interlock devices, and reinstatement fees. In some instances, a DUI conviction may lead to mandatory treatment programs, vehicle immobilization and/or forfeiture, ignition interlock, electronically monitored house arrest (EMHA), continuous alcohol monitoring (CAM), and prison.

If you are convicted, or plead guilty, to an Ohio DUI offense, the judge determines the appropriate sentence. There are certain minimum penalties that are required by statute. The charts below are provided to illustrate the myriad of Ohio DUI penalties.

1st DUI conviction in 6 years

  • Misdemeanor of the 1st Degree
  • Minimum 3 days in jail or a driver intervention program with probation. Maximum of 6 months in jail.
  • Minimum $375 fine. Maximum of $1,075 fine.
  • Treatment may be ordered.
  • Mandatory license suspension of 6 months to 3 years.
  • Driving privileges not available for first 15 days.
  • Optional yellow license plates (the DUI plates) and Interlock device.

 

1st DUI conviction in 6 years and either high-end test or any prior in 20 years and refusal

  • Misdemeanor of the 1st Degree
  • Minimum 6 days in jail or 3 days in jail and 3 days in driver intervention program. Maximum 6 months in jail.
  • Minimum $375 fine. Maximum of $1,075 fine.
  • Treatment may be ordered.
  • Mandatory license suspension of 6 months to 3 years.
  • Driving privileges not available for first 15 days.
  • Mandatory yellow license plates (the DUI plates) for high-end test. Interlock device optional.

 

2nd DUI conviction in 6 years

  • Misdemeanor of the 1st Degree
  • Minimum 10 days in jail or 5 days in jail and 18 days of Electronically Monitored House Arrest and/or Continuous Alcohol Monitoring. Maximum 6 months in jail.
  • Minimum $525 fine. Maximum of $1,625 fine.
  • Alcohol/drug assessment and following recommendations mandatory.
  • Mandatory license suspension of 1 to 5 years.
  • Driving privileges not available for first 45 days.
  • Vehicle immobilized for 90 days if registered to defendant.
  • Mandatory restricted plates (the DUI plates). Interlock device required if offense is alcohol related.

 

2nd DUI conviction in 6 years and either high-end test or any prior in 20 years and refusal

  • Misdemeanor of the 1st Degree
  • Minimum 20 days in jail or 10 days in jail and 36 days of Electronically Monitored House Arrest and/or Continuous Alcohol Monitoring. Maximum 6 months in jail.
  • Minimum $525 fine. Maximum of $1,625 fine.
  • Alcohol/drug assessment and following recommendations mandatory.
  • Mandatory license suspension of 1 to 5 years.
  • Driving privileges not available for first 45 days.
  • Vehicle immobilized for 90 days if registered to defendant.
  • Mandatory restricted plates (the DUI plates). Interlock device required if offense is alcohol related.

 

3rd DUI conviction and beyond

  • DUI penalties continue to increase the more you are convicted of DUI.
  • With 3 or more prior DUIs within 6 years, any further DUI is a 4th Degree Felony.
  • With 5 or more prior DUIs within 20 years, any further DUI is a 4th Degree Felony.
  • Fines increase to range from $850 minimum to $10,500 maximum.
  • Mandatory treatment, license suspension (including lifetime suspensions), vehicle forfeiture, mandatory DUI plates and Interlock devices.

 

The information on this page should only be taken as representative of DUI penalties. DUI and its penalties are subject to constant change by the Ohio legislature. Ohio DUI Penalties are tough, and traditionally have only gotten tougher.

Contact

Phone: (614) 461-8080
Text: (614) 304-1010
Fax: (614) 754-5025

Jeff Reynard, Esq.
Reynard & Rice, llp
35 E. Livingston Ave.
Columbus, Ohio 43215

Google Map